Meeting 2015 June 18

McKellar Park Community Association Meeting

Thursday, June 18th

Lesley Taylor’s house

Attendees: Rich Brandau, Dan O’Hagan, Julie Pandeya, Sybil Powell, Lesley Taylor, Nadia Thorne

Absent: Tina Casey

1    Executive Meeting Calendar

It was agreed the committee would meet every second Monday of the Month; meeting times/dates will be amended as needed based on anticipated attendance. This has been calendared for the rest of the year, but we will need to adjust October 12, 2015 (Thanksgiving) and Feb 15, 2016 (Family Day).

2    Executive Roles & Committees

Given Tina’s absence we did not finalize all roles

President – Sybil was nominated and will give it consideration; will not finalize without input from Tina

Vice President – Stella

Treasurer – Lesley Taylor

Secretary – Julie Pandeya

Web Site – Rich Brandau

Community Relations – Tina?


  1. Traffic Committee – Nadia Thorne, Neeta McMurtry, Tina Casey, Stella, Seema Lamba, Sybil Powell

  • The committee will deal with all internal neighbourhood traffic issues and partner with other bordering communities and Jeff Leiper as needed to offer input into necessary traffic calming measure. It is anticipated that sub-committees may arise depending on the exact traffic issue.

  1. Parks & Environment – Tina Casey, Neeta, Julie Pandeya, Rich Brandau

    • The committee will work with the community and Jeff Leipers office to ensure we are communicating park needs and priorities. It will also continue to work with the broader Kitchissippi Tree Group that has worked to influence the City Environment committee to review the adherence to City Tree policies. Lastly, it will also include participation as required with the NCC in regards to the Linear Park along SJAM Parkway.

  2. Zoning & Development – Julie Pandeya, Lesley Taylor, Stella, Jimmy (?), Rich ?

    • The committee will be responsible for communicating new zoning and development initiatives that impact our neighbourhood residents and will play an active role where there are community concerns. This will include any potential developments and zoning changes resulting from the LRT

  3. Transit Committee – Dan O’Hagan, Sybill Powell, Alex Campbell, Ian Joiner

    • The committee will deal with all issues arising from the LRT including Cleary Stations, LRT, Mitigation of bus routes; some of these issues may be dealt jointly with the Traffic and Environment committees. It is anticipated that sub-committees may arise depending on the exact LRT issue.

  4. Community Activities & Fundraising – Tina Casey, Stella, Julie Pandeya

    • The committee will focus mainly on the Fall Fair community event and others. It expected there will be sub-committees for any other special events.

3    Signatories for Bank Account

Currently Seema Lamba (past president), Lesley Taylor (treasurer) and Stell (VP) are bank signatories. Nadia Thorne will replace Seema Lamba as a signatory.

4    Boundaries

There is a question whether some of the homes on Denbury are part of McKellar Park Community. Since the community map is unclear Jeff Leiper’s office will be queried by Rich.

5    Mailboxes

It is unclear what process Canada Post is undertaking to determine where and when mailboxes will be installed in McKellar Park. Sybil will inquire with Paul Dewar and provide a status in the next meeting.

6    Fall Fair

Committee should discuss key factors before agreeing to move forward with another Fall festival. It was a welcome event last year, but we did lose money. The loss was attributable to printing costs. Printing could be eliminated in lieu of offering more social media acknowledgement of sponsors and allowing individual activity sponsorship. The Committee will have a proposal for the next meeting